

# **CLUB DE MADRID**

co-organised with Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center of the Atlantic Council

Broadened Transatlantic Relations in a Rules-Based Order

22 September 2023 15:00 - 16:30 EST

Venue: Baha'i International Community (NYC)

## **List of Participants**

### Opening remarks:

- Danilo Türk, President of CdM, President of Slovenia (2007-2012)
- Jason Marczak, Senior Director, Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center of Atlantic Council

Open dialogue facilitated by Diego Area, Deputy Director of Strategic Development, Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center of Atlantic Council

#### Open dialogue with participants:

- Carlos Alvarado, Member of CdM, President of Costa Rica (2018-2022)
- Tarja Halonen, Member of CdM, President of Finland (2000-2012)
- Elbegdorj Tsakhia, Member of CdM, President of Mongolia (2009-2017)
- Danilo Türk, President of CdM, President of Slovenia (2007-2012)
- María Elena Agüero, Secretary-General of CdM
- Tony Jones, Board Member of CdM, Executive Director of GFNA
- Susana Malcorra, Advisor of CdM, Founder of GWL Voices
- Timothy Phillips, Advisor of CdM, Founder and CEO of Beyond Conflict
- Jay Tannon, Advisor of CdM, Senior Counsel at DLA Piper
- Maximiliano Álvarez, Second Secretary, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Argentina to the UN
- Michael Ardaiolo, Desk Officer for Atlantic Cooperation, Permanent Representation of the USA to the UN
- Cornel Feruță, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Romania to the UN
- Patrice Gumbs, Director of Foreign Affairs of Sint Maarten, Permanent Mission of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the UN
- Inga Rhonda King, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of St. Vincent and the Grenadines to the UN
- Jessye Lapenn, Ambassador, Senior Coordinator for Atlantic Cooperation, Permanent Representation of the USA to the UN
- Clay Pell, Coast Guard Liaison Officer, Permanent Representation of the USA to the UN
- María del Carmen Squeff, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Argentina to the UN
- Tobias Thyberg, Head of Department for UN Policy, Swedish Ministry for Foreign Affairs
- Ana Paula Zacarias, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Portugal to the UN
- Monica Aleman, International Program Director, Gender, Racial, and Ethnic Justice, Ford Foundation
- Diego Area, Deputy Director of Strategic Development, Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center of Atlantic Council
- Aaron Berger, Director of Global Community Strategy, Nexus Global Summit
- Irene Braam, Executive Director, Bertelsmann USA
- Maria Eduarda Pessoa de Assis, Legal and Policy Advisor, Igarapé Institute
- Silvia Hernández, Chief of Staff of the Executive Secretary, ECLAC
- Luis Jiménez-McInnis, Director, Pan American Health Organization
- Bobby Kia, Co-Founder, Global Solution Deployment Endowment
- Giovanna Kuele, Policy Advisor, Igarapé Institute
- Jason Marczak, Senior Director, Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center of Atlantic Council
- Esther M. McIntosh, Senior Advisor of CdM, Shared Societies Project
- Matthias Meis, Executive Director, Liz Mohn Center

- Felipe Felix Mendéz, Program Assistant, Adrienne Arsht Latin America Center of Atlantic Council
- Wazim Mowla, Atlantic Council
- Aldo Natalizia, Corporate Affairs Director, Tigo Paraguay
- Nicholas O'Connell, Atlantic Council
- Daniel Perrell, Representative of the Baha'i Community at the UN Office, Baha'i International Community
- Nayana Rizzo Sampaio, Head of Public Policy in Brazil, Amazon Web Services
- Valentina Sader, Atlantic Council
- José Manuel Salazar-Xirinachs, Executive Secretary, ECLAC
- Annika Silva-Leander, Head of North America & Permanent Observer to the UN, International IDEA
- Max Trejo Cervantes, Deputy Secretary-General, International Youth Organisation (OIJ)
- Andrés Valenciano, Director a.i. of the ECLAC Office in Washington, ECLAC
- Antonio Vargas, Head of Public Policy for Iberia, AWS Spain
- Valeria Villarreal, Atlantic Council
- Sabina Veksler, Managing Director Official Institutions Coverage Americas, BNP Paribas
- Luis Yáñez, Secretary of the Commission, ECLAC

## Closing remarks:

• María Elena Agüero, Secretary-General of CdM