

Members Valdas Adamkus Esko Aho Oscar Arias Carlos Alvarado José María Aznar Michelle Bachelet Jan Peter Balkenende Jovce Banda

Joyce Banda José Manuel Barroso Alain Berset Carl Bildt

Carl Bild Valdis Birkavs Kjell Magne Bondevik Gordon Brown Gro Harlem Brundtland Jerzy Buzek Felipe Calderón Micheline Calmy-Rey Micheline Calmy-Rey Kim Campbell Fernando H. Cardoso Anibal Cavaco Silva Joaquim Chissano Laura Chinchilla Jean Chrétien Helen Clark

Helen Clark William J. Clinton

Marie Louise Coleiro Preci Philip Dimitrov Luisa Diogo Elbegdorj Tsakhia

Elbegdorj Tsakhia Leonel Fernández José María Figueres Vigdís Finnbogadóttir Vicente Fox Eduardo Frei Ruiz-Tagle Yasuo Fukuda Joachim Gauck César Gaviria Amine Gemayel Felipe González Dalia Grobauskaite

Dalia Grybauskaite Alfred Gusenbauer António Guterres Tarja Halonen Hilda Heine

riida Heine François Hollande Osvaldo Hurtado Hamadi Jebali Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf Mehdi Jomaa Ivo Josipovic Julia Gillect

Julia Gillard Jean-Claude Juncker

Jean-Claude Juncker Alain Juppé Horst Köhler Ram Nath Kovind Milan Kucan John Kufuor Chandrika Kumaratunga Aleksander Kwasniewski Luis A. Lacalle Herrera Ricardo Lagos

Ricardo Lagos Zlatko Lagumdžija Lee Hong-Koo Yves Leterme

Enrico Letta

Nes Lectifice Enrico Letta Doris Leuthard Stefan Löfven Maurcio Macri Moussa Mara Sanna Marin Thabo Mbeki Rexhep Meidani Carlos Mesa James Michel Festus Mogae Mario Monti Olusegun Obasanjo Ochirbat Punsalmao Roza Otunbayeva George Papandreou Anand Panyraschun Pratibha Patil Andrés Pastrana P Patterson Romano Prodi Jorge Cuiroga

Jorge Quiroga Iveta Radicova Mariano Rajoy José M. Ramos-Horta Poul N. Rasmussen

Mary Robinson José Luis R. Zapatero

José Luis R. Zapatero Petre Roman Kevin Rudd Francisco Sagasti Julio María Sanguinetti Wolfgang Schüssel Jenny Shipley Johanna Sigurdardottir Fuad Siniora Alexander Stubb Hanna Suchocka Boris Tadic Jigmi Yoser Thinley Helle Thorning-Schmidt

Jigmi Yoser Thinley Helle Thorning-Schmidt Martín Torrijos Aminata Touré Cassam Utem Herman Van Rompuy Guy Verhörstadt Vaira Vike-Freiberga Dominique de Villepin Susilo B. Yudhoyono Viktor Yuschenko Valdis Zatlers Ernesto Zedillo

Constituent Foundations Cristina Manzano

T.Anthony Jones José Manuel Romero

Honorary Members Ban Ki-moon Ángel Gurría Enrique Iglesias Aung San Suu Kyi

Juan Somavía Javier Solana



Ms. Ursula von der Leyen President **European Commission**

January 16 2025

Dear President von der Leyen,

As you begin your second term as President of the European Commission, we encourage you to build on the progress made toward a more accountable digital world during your first term. In particular, we write in support of bold structural actions to end Google's monopoly over digital advertising technologies ("adtech") — a critical step towards Europe's democracy, media landscape, and strategic autonomy.

The European Union's pioneering regulations, including the Digital Services Act (DSA) and Digital Markets Act (DMA), have set a global standard and emboldened our allies to address the power of dominant platforms. However, Europe's democracy is still at risk. Recent events have underscored how the consolidation of power over vital tech platforms jeopardizes our independence and undermines efforts to enforce our laws.

The urgent task is to reduce Europe's reliance on foreign platforms by reclaiming control over critical digital infrastructure. Of particular importance is the Commission's upcoming decision concerning Google's adtech monopoly. A decision in this case is expected soon and follows the EU's Statement of Objections issued last year finding that Google's conflicts in the adtech market likely require a structural separation.

We welcome Commissioner Teresa Ribera's recent statement affirming that a divestiture of Google's ad tech monopoly is still on the table and encourage the Commission to pursue strong structural remedies while supporting enforcers to defend such measures in court.

Adtech serves as the economic engine of the open web, and underpins much of Europe's news and entertainment business. However, Google's unchecked dominance, stemming from its 2007 acquisition of DoubleClick, has stifled competition and consolidated its control over every segment of the adtech market. The US Justice Department, in its case aligned with the Commission's investigation, has noted that Google dominates the tools advertisers use, the systems publishers rely on, and the key exchange where these parties meet. A Google executive memorably described this conflict as "as if Goldman or Citibank owned the New York Stock Exchange."

This market imbalance also erodes Europe's media landscape. Stagnating revenues for news publishers have raised concerns about the risk of news deserts, where communities are deprived of access to independent journalism. This decline hampers the role of the press in supporting democratic discourse and leaves space for misinformation to take root. As we saw during the riots in the United Kingdom over the summer, this fusion of platform power with political influence threatens sovereignty, economic stability, and public safety.

To address this crisis, we recommend two immediate actions:



First, European regulators investigating anticompetitive practices in digital markets should be given the resources and authority to implement structural remedies that restore fair competition. Decisive action in the Google investigation is a necessary first step.

Second, once digital markets have been renewed with judicious use of structural remedies, the Commission should actively seek to foster European innovation. This includes leveraging public procurement, resourcing and enforcing the DSA and DMA, and investing in a "European Tech Deal" to support our startup ecosystem and foster more trustworthy, independent digital infrastructure.

Together, these measures can restore a thriving, diverse media landscape, protect our democratic values, and promote our digital sovereignty. The health of Europe's public square and the strength of our democracies depend on decisive action - in the adtech case, and beyond.

Yours sincerely,

Esko Aho, Prime Minister of Finland (1991-1995) Jan Peter Balkenende, Prime Minister of the Netherlands (2002-2010) Valdis Birkavs, Prime Minister of Latvia (1993-1994) Dominique **de Villepin**, Prime Minister of France (2005-2007) Dalia Grybauskaitė, President of Lithuania (2009-2019) Alfred Gusenbauer, Chancellor of Austria (2007-2008) Ivo Josipović, President of Croatia (2010-2015) Milan Kučan, President of Slovenia (1991-2002) Aleksander Kwaśniewski, President of Poland (1995-2005) Yves Leterme, Prime Minister of Belgium (2008, 2009-2011) Stefan Löfven, Prime Minister of Sweden (2014-2021) Rexhep Meidani, President of Albania (1997-2002) George **Papandreou**, Prime Minister of Greece (2009 – 2011) Iveta Radičová, Prime Minister of Slovakia (2010-2012) Petre Roman, Prime Minister of Romania (1989-1991) Wolfgang Schüssel, Chancellor of Austria (2000-2007) Danilo Türk, President of Slovenia (2007-2012) & President of Club de Madrid Vaira Vike-Freiberga, President of Latvia (1999-2007)