Enrique Iglesias and Javier Solana, new Honorary Members of the Club de Madrid

Javier Solana was Secretary General of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) from 1995 to 1999. During Solana’s term, NATO reorganized its political and military structure and changed its basic strategies. He gained the reputation of being a very successful, diplomatic Secretary General who was capable of negotiating between the differing NATO members and between NATO and non-NATO States. After his period in NATO, he was appointed High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy of the European Union and Secretary General of the Council of the European Union.

Javier Solana is president of ESADE Center for Global Economy and Geopolitics. He is also distinguished fellow in Foreign Policy at Brookings Institution, Fisher Family Fellow at Harvard, chairman of the Aspen Institute Spain, honorary president of the Centre for Human Dialogue (Geneva), member of the board of the International Crisis Group, the European Council on Foreign Relations, and Human Rights Watch, as well as senior visiting professor at the London School of Economics, where he was awarded an Honorary Degree in December 2010. Henceforth, Javier Solana is an Honorary Member of the Club de Madrid.

Enrique Iglesias was Minister of Foreign Relations in the Government of Uruguay (1985-1988) before being elected president of the Inter-American Development Bank in 1988. During Iglesias’s first and second terms as president, the IDB concluded negotiations for its Seventh (1989) and Eighth (1994) General Increase in Resources. Respectively, these negotiations increased the Bank’s ordinary capital by USD $26.5 billion and $101 billion. Since 2005, he is Secretary General of the Iberoamerican General Secretariat (SEGIB).

The Club de Madrid is truly honored to count among our Members with both distinguished international political leaders. His membership significantly enhances our capacity to address the challenge of democratic governance and political conflict. Enrique Iglesias and Javier Solana join Kofi Annan, Aung San Suu Kyi, Jimmy Carter and Jacques Delors as honorary members of the Club de Madrid.